Medicaid is a public health insurance program in the United States that is specially designed to help low-income American families as well as individuals. It is run by a segment of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), the Centers of Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS). This health insurance program offers low-cost and even free health benefits for low-income populations, including children, mothers, adults, senior citizens, pregnant women and people with disabilities.


It is one of the largest programs, and it recently covered around 70 million low-income US citizens. Like other government programs, it is a federal program, but it is managed individually by states. States have different Medicaid eligibility requirements. They also have different benefits, but all Medicaid programs are required to cover certain services. For example, states must cover:

  • Hospital services.
  • Family planning services.
  • Transportation to medical care.

There are also optional benefits that states may choose to cover. For example, optional benefits include:

  • Physical therapy.
  • Vision services.
  • Hospice care.
  • Prescription drugs.

If a low-income family has an income that is still too high to qualify for Medicaid, their children may qualify for an alternative program called the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).

By Admin